How much learning is enough?

Thanks to Jay leaving a comment on my post about our first bus-ride:

“As to missing things, well, we are beyond that stage. We will all be missing things all the time. The objective is not to learn everything; it’s to learn enough.”

I presume he is not suggesting that we should stop asking for more if we feel it would support our efforts, bring us closer to our goal or further in our undertaking.

So the question is how much is ‘enough’ learnt? My ideas on this for further discussion:

  • It is enough, when we are on track to reach our goals
  • It is enough, when we have reached our goals
  • It is enough, when we had a conversation that leads us ahead, i.e. to find new paths worth following
  • It is enough, when we have been able to contribute something and/or to get something out of it (i.e. Jay’s suggestion to always have a safety net available)

Thanks for your input to this interesting topic.

P.S.: Yes, I have learnt enough on our first bus-ride. Thanks.

2 comments so far

  1. Eddie on

    I struggle with how much is enough. I love to learn and have always wanted to believe that I could learn what ever I wanted to and that I needed to go on and on learning.

    I have learnt enough for now.

    The unworkshop ties into several aspects of my life for right now. Knowing when to say enough is important. Limiting my scope and finding the world within that limit is the challenge for me for now.

  2. ursfrei on

    Thanks Eddie
    I feel it is quiet difficult for me to answer to your comment on “How much learning is enough?”.
    Maybe this is because I feel to be in a similar situation as you are: Daily business constraints, a lot of interesting things to look at and limited time.
    However: It is NOW that we do have the opportunity to meet and interact. Let us keep in touch!

    (And: let us do the “solo” work, when we have finished this UnWorkshop.)


Leave a Reply

